This upcoming Tuesday, I have a meeting with a trainer whose classes I attended in the past.  I’ve asked her to help me make a plan so that I have some success before I go back to work in 5 weeks or so, and so that I can have a plan for when I go back to work when life becomes much busier.

I’m not 100% convinced I will be able to stick to a plan and become super-healthy, happy J, but I’m dealing with some pretty negative consequences, so I’d like to try.

 

Here are the 5 best results I think I could receive if I let go of the weight.

  1. I will be able to fit into clothes I like. As I’ve gained weight, I’ve sized out of all of my favorite clothes. I have a few things I’ve bought since then that I like, but as my “trouble area” is my stomach, I don’t think anything looks good.  So even the new things I’ve bought will look better. I’d love to say that looking good isn’t part of my goal, but it is.  Losing weight and being/looking fit is both about feel and look for me.

 

  1. I will be able to make clothes for myself that I like. The last garment I knit for myself was a vest and even when it did fit ok, I didn’t like how it looked. I have a dream to be able to knit cute tops for myself and to feel good in them.
  2. I’ll be cooler. I know some people cannot cope with being chilled; I’m one of the ones who hates being hot. During the summer it’s actually been easier.  I expect to be hot when I’m outside and active, but when I’m at work and I’m sweltering, it sucks, so feeling cooler is a major plus.
  3. I will be able to stand for longer periods of time. More and more I find myself searching for a chair even when just having a short conversation with my significant other. I’d like to feel more energetic and be able to stand for longer periods of time.
  4. Lower blood pressure. I think we all have a little bit of the it’ll-never-happen-to-me syndrome and I’m no exception. I had no idea that at 40, the doctors who always tell me I’m as healthy as a horse would say that I have high blood pressure.  It’s not healthy and I think it gives me headaches and makes me hot.  I’d prefer to refrain from over-taxing my heart.

 

I’ve been living long enough that I know what results I want and anticipate may be different than what I receive—and that will be ok or maybe even awesome.  I’ll have to check back in and see how things turn out!

 

Peace out (and in),

 

Jaye

